Managing Emburse Professional AP User Roles

Managing Emburse Professional AP User Roles

Emburse Professional Administrators can enable certain employees to have permissions across the entire company or multiple departments, instead of just one department by using User Roles in Emburse Professional AP.

View our articles on Creating Emburse Professional AP Roles and Adding Users to Emburse Professional AP Roles before beginning.

This article will show you, a Emburse Professional Administrator, how to manage Emburse Professional AP User Roles.

  1. On your Department Configuration page in Emburse Professional Emburse Professional AP, click the plus icon next to the Roles heading under the department in which you created the role, or click Roles under your company name.

    Department Configuration page with department tree and expand icon next to Roles.

  2. Click the name of the role.

    Department Configuration tree with Roles expanded and Company Wide Requisitioner role selected.

  3. In the Edit tab you can:
    • Edit the name of the role
    • Edit the Requisition Spending Limit for the role
    • Mark/unmark checkboxes to add/remove permissions from this role.

    Once complete, click Update Role.

    Role permissions with Update Role button.

  4. To remove an employee from a role, start by clicking the Users in Role tab.

    Edit Role with Users in Role tab selected.

  5. Click the remove icon next to the employee you want to remove from the role.

    Users in Role list with remove icon.

  6. Click OK to confirm.

    Confirmation dialog to remove a user from a role with OK highlighted.

  7. To Deactivate a role, start by clicking the Edit tab.

    Users in Role view with Edit link highlighted.

  8. Click Deactivate. Deactivating a role saves the role's information (the permissions and Requisition Spending Limit), but disables employees with this Role from using the Role's permissions.

    Deactivate Role confirmation.

  9. Click OK to confirm.

    Confirmation dialog warning that deactivating a role may limit user actions, with OK highlighted.

  10. The role is now deactivated. The role's icon is grayed out on the Configuration page.

    Configuration page with the deactivated role grayed out and the Reactivate control available.

  11. To reactivate the role, click Reactivate.
  12. Click OK to confirm.

    Confirmation dialog to reactivate a role with OK highlighted.

  13. To Delete the role, click Delete. Deleting a User Role removes the Role itself and all its permissions from employees assigned to the role.

    Edit Role page with Delete button highlighted.

  14. Click OK to confirm. The role disappears from the Configuration page. 

    Confirmation dialog warning that deleting a role may limit user actions, with OK highlighted.

Was this article helpful?